Home > Peace in the Arts > Dayton Literary Peace Prize Finalists Announced

Dayton Literary Peace Prize Finalists Announced

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2017 Dayton Literary Peace Prize in fiction and nonfiction.

“This year’s finalists show us people navigating their way through a complex range of differences, whether it be nationality, race, class, or gender,” said Sharon Rab, co-chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation. “Through these narratives, we discover either valuable tools for reconciling differences – or the dire consequences for all involved of choosing to remain in conflict.”

==> Learn more about their books.
==> Read the full press release.

A winner and runner-up in fiction and nonfiction will be announced on Oct. 3. Winners receive a $10,000 honorarium and runners-up receive $2,500. Finalists are reviewed by a judging panel of prominent writers including Gish Jen, Robin Hemley, Alan Taylor, and Helen Thorpe.

To be eligible for the 2017 awards, English-language books must be published or translated into English in 2016 and address the theme of peace on a variety of levels, such as between individuals, among families and communities, or between nations, religions, or ethnic groups.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Click here to visit our website The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it is recognized as one of the world’s most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a $10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. Additionally, the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize’s mission; previous honorees include Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Louise Erdrich, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Tim O’Brien, Marilynne Robinson, Gloria Steinem, Studs Terkel, and Elie Wiesel. For more information visit the Dayton Literary Peace Prize media center at http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/press.htm.

Source: Dayton Literary Peace Prize – An International Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


What is 18 + 19 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)
I footnotes