Home > Featured > Location Set for Gandhi Peace Award 2017

Location Set for Gandhi Peace Award 2017

nader and barghouti

Ralph Nader & Omar Barghouti

Sunday, April 23,
4:00 p.m.,
Yale University,
Sheffield-Sterling-Strathcona Hall,
Room 114,
at 1 Prospect Street, New Haven 
Free and Open to the Public
The legendary Ralph Nader has done groundbreaking work on a multitude of citizen action projects for decades.  From auto safety to general consumer issues to criticizing nuclear power to  “Breaking Through to Power” Nader has made his mark on history.
Omar Barghouti is a leader of the BDS movement (boycott, divestment and sanctions), putting pressure on the Israeli government to force it to stop its human rights abuses and violations of Palestinian national rights.   See www.bdsmovement.net 
Barghouti is from a family of Palestinian refugees, but only has “permanent resident” status in Israel.  His needs a permit from the Israeli government to travel outside Palestine/Israel.
The Israeli government is worried about BDS, absurdly calling it an “existential threat”. Recently it passed a law denying entry to Israel to any foreigner (including the stateless non-citizens of the West Bank and Gaza) who calls for BDS against Israel, any area it controls or any Israeli institution.
The Gandhi Peace Award has been given out since 1960.  Laureates include Eleanor Roosevelt, Dorothy Day, Cesar Chavez, Amy Goodman, Rabbis Arik Ascherman and Ehud Bandel, Bill McKibben, Medea Benjamin, Tom Goldtooth, and Kathy Kelly


  1. Martha Spiegelman

    The Gandhi Award is engraved on our calendar. If we ought to make reservations, we’re making them now, for three of us: Martha Spiegelman, Irwin Spiegelman, Cynthia Polinsky. Looking forward once again to an excellent program.

  2. Thank you, I’ll put you on the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.