Home > Gandhi Peace Award

Gandhi Peace Award

The Gandhi Peace Award is marked by a significant medallion and a certificate with an inscription summing up the work for peace of a distinguished citizen of the world. The medallion features the profile of Mohandas K. Gandhi, with his words “Love Ever Suffers/Never Revenges Itself” cast in bronze. Gandhi Peace Award Side One

The recipient’s name is added to a weighty carved statue of the Mahatma. The award is presented at a ceremony held approximately once a year, at which a distinguished peacemaker is recognized and given the opportunity to present a message of challenge and hope. It is to be awarded “for contributions made in the promotion of international peace and good will.”

The Award has always been presented in person to each recipient.

Like all of the perennial activities of Promoting Enduring Peace, the Gandhi Peace Award was conceived by the organization’s founder, Dr. Jerome Davis, in the early 1950s. At the Board of Director’s meeting on March 13, 1959, he formally proposed that a yearly award be given to persons outstanding in their work for world peace.

Gandhi Peace Award Side Two A famous New York sculptor, Don Benaron/Katz, was commissioned to create a work of art to serve as the symbol of the Award. He researched Gandhi at the library of the India House in New York City and, by 1960, had carved a striking portrait of the founder of the century’s international movement for nonviolent change.

He wrote, “I carved the Gujarati word for peace on one side, and on the other a symbolic plowshare and pruning hook inspired by Isaiah 2:4…”

They shall beat their swords into plowshares
and their spears into pruning hooks;
nation shall not lift up sword against nation,
neither shall they learn war any more.

Excerpted from Peace Heroes: The Gandhi Peace Awards
© 2002-2010 by James Clement van Pelt.

Past Recipients of the Gandhi Peace Award:

Eleanor Roosevelt
The Rev. Dr. Edwin T. Dahlberg
Rabbi Maurice Eisendrath
The Rev. John Haynes Holmes
Dr. Linus C. Pauling
James Paul Warburg
Dr. E. Stanley Jones
A.J. Muste
Norman Thomas
Jerome Davis
The Rev. William Sloane Coffin, Jr.
Dr. Benjamin Spock
Senator Wayne Morse
Dr. Willard Uphaus
U Thant
Dorothy Day
Dr. Daniel Ellsberg
Peter Benenson and
Petretti Ennais
Prof. Roland Bainton
Dr. Helen Caldicott
Dr. Corliss Lamont
Randall Watson Forsberg
Robert Jay Lifton
Dr. Kay Camp
Dr. Bernard Lown
Prof. John Somerville
Cesar Chavez
Marian Wright Edelman
Senator George McGovern
Ramsey Clark
The Rev. Lucius Walker, Jr.
Father Roy Bourgeois
Edith Ballantyne
Alan Wright and Paula Kline
Howard and Alice Frazier
Michael True and NEPSA
U.S. Rep. Dennis Kucinich
Karen Jacob & David Cortright
Rabbis Ehud Bandel and Arik Ascherman of Rabbis for Human Rights
Amy Goodman of DemocracyNow!
Bill McKibben of 350.org
Medea Benjamin of CodePink
Kathy Kelly and Tom B.K. Goldtooth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.